IV. International Marxism-Feminism Conference [2020-10-15,16,17] BILBO, Basque Country

The idea of an international marxist-feminist conference was originally brought into being, and was since then continuously organized, by the feminist section of the Berlin Institute of Critical Theory (Inkrit) around the German sociologist and philosopher Frigga Haug. It was held in Berlin for the first time in 2015, followed by an increasingly international second congress in Vienna in 2016, and the third one in Lund (Sweden) in 2018.

The IV. International Conference will be held in Bilbao (Bizkaia Aretoa), in October (15,16,17) 2020. This Confernce will be organized and funded by Transform! Europe and the University of the Basque Country, along with Iratzar Foundation, Bilbo-Barcelona Critical Theory Group (BIBA CT), Inkrit, Rosa Luxemburg Foundation and ParteHartuz, among others (which will be made public in the following months).

[In order to know the genealogy of these Conferences please check multimedia page]

We welcome papers and panel proposals by activists, academics and social movemets, especifically from the feminist movement, unions, new working class associations and autonomous militant groups.

At this stage Keynote Speakers that have confirmed their participation are the following ones: Gayatri Spivak, Frigga Haug, Tithi Bhattacharya, Cinzia Arruzza, Nancy Fraser, Elsa Dorlin, Lorena Cabnal and Francesca Gargallo. Along with round tables with Keynote speakers, we will also have a plenary session with the Feminist Movement of the Basque Country and the new working class women associations.

Call for papers: will be open up until February 25, 2020.

Registration (FREE): will be open up until March 15, 2020

Scientific committee

Frigga Haug (Inkrit), Teresa Larruzea (BIBA CT), Özgür Güneş Öztürk (BIBA CT, Col·lectivaT), Gayatri Spivak (Columbia University), Jule Goikoetxea (BIBA CT, EHU), Cinzia Arruzza (New School NYC University), Nancy Fraser (New School NYC University), Monica Clau (University of Texas Rio Grande, BIBA CT), Andoni Olariaga (Iratzar Foundation, BIBA CT), Elena Beloki ( Iratzar Foundation), Nora Räthzel (Inkrit) and Erika Rosa (Rosa Luxemburg).

Organizing Committee

Lore Lujanbio Etxeberria (EHU, BIBA CT), Teresa Larruzea (BIBA CT), Günes Ozgür (BIBA CT, Colletivat), Eneko Ander (EHU, BIBA CT), Jon Azkune (EHU, BIBA CT), Jule Goikoetxea (EHU, BIBA CT), Marta Jorba (EHU, BIBA CT), Elena Beloki (Iratzar Fundazioa), Ibai Atutxa (BIBA CT, EHU) and Aitor Jimenez (BIBA CT).

Communication Committee

Zuriñe Rodriguez (BIBA CT, Sudergintza), Itziar Amunategi (Iratzar), Idoia Zengotitabengoa (Iratzar) and Estitxu Garai (EHU, BIBA CT).

Administration and registration contact:  marxfembilbo@gmail.com


  1. Production of value and life: alternative paradigms
  2. Unions and social and political movements (included hacktivism) confronting patriarcal capitalism, racism and colonialism (new articulations and estrategies)
  3. Territories, sovereignty and national liberation struggles in XXI. century
  4. Eco-feminism and eco-socialism
  5. Bodies, discourse and dissident materialities
  6. Art, esthetics and culture politics
  7. Anticapitalist and feminist law, State and constituent power
  8. Rising of the right and the new war against feminism and socialism


.Name and Surname



.Name and Surname


.Thematic axe

.Proposal (1 page min/2 pages max)





%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close